A father… a daughter’s first love

“Behind every great daughter is a truly amazing dad”

         Throughout our lives we meet many people who leave footprints on our hearts, but there is no stronger form of love than the bond between a daughter and her father. Being the father of a daughter is no easy task. It involves a lot of patience, love, and most importantly understanding. A father is the first man a girl will ever love and most of all he is the man that sets the bar for all to follow. As today is Father’s Day, the SLNY team wanted to take a few moments and say thank you to all the IMG_1886amazing fathers/father figures in our lives.

First, thank you for being a great role model.

       Growing up, I always knew that I wanted to be just like you. Your strength and courage never ceased to amaze me and because of you I had the most incredible role model. I am stronger and more confident today because you believed in me despite every obstacle that I faced.

Thank you for teaching me the importance of hard work.

I’ve learned from you that success takes a lot of hard work. You have taught me that it takes time, dedication, but most importantly it takes confidence. Because of you I now know the value of hard work and what it takes in order to achieve my dreams.

Thank you for always putting your family first.

       In today’s society where family is pushed aside and ignored, thank you for always putting family first. I know it was not always easy for you, but growing up and having a father who continuously made family a priority is something that was never taken for granted. I know that you have sacrificed a lot for our family, but there isn’t a day goes by where we don’t appreciate all that you do.

Most importantly, thank you for always loving me no matter what.

       I know that we have our differences, but thank you for always lovinIMG_1881g me for who I am. Your unconditional love and support helped shape me to become the woman I am today. Because you loved me I now know what love should and should not be. I now have extremely high expectations because you set bar high. You have shown me to always wait for the love I deserve and never settle for anything less.

You have me taught some of the most amazing life lessons and for that I can never thank you enough. If I can grow up to be half the person you are, that would be an amazing accomplishment. I hope to follow in your footsteps and to always hold onto these moments in my heart forever. So to all the wonderful fathers and father figures out there, Samantha would like to wish you a very happy Father’s Day.

Leave a Reply

